Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | January 15, 2014

Our Light.

“I am the Light of the world ; he that followeth Me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.”–John viii.     .

SOME people don’t see what they want with this Light !  they think their own eyes and common sense, and what they call “the light of reason,” are quite enough for them.  But Jesus says, “Take heed therefore that the light that is in thee be not darkness”  (Luke xi.     ) ; and, “If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness !”  (Matt. vi.     .)  For Jesus Himself is the true Light (John i.     ), and if we have not the true Light of course we can’t see right.

The Holy Spirit very often shows us the darkness first, so as to make us seek the Light.  A young girl said to me, “I can’t see my way through the sins.”  It was a great thing that the good Spirit was showing her the darkness.  Nothing is worse than not to know that we are “poor, and miserable, and blind”  (Rev. iii.     ), because then we do not want the Light.  Now if you feel something like that girl, just bring the sins to Jesus, bring the darkness to the Light, and in His light you shall see light.  (Ps. xxxvi.     .)  We cannot be in the dark when we come close to a bright light ; there cannot be darkness in our hearts when we open the door and let the Lord Jesus come in.

Some of you know well enough already what the difference is, and how true it comes that “Christ shall give thee light.”  (Eph. v.     .)  How the puzzles are made clear, and the doubts all go we don’t know where, and the shadows flee away, and everything seems bright, when we really come to Jesus !  Ever so many of you are saying, I know, as you read this, “Yes, yes !  that is just it !”  Why not all of you ?

This is one of the special things that God gave Jesus to be :  “a Light of the Gentiles.”  (Isa. xlii.     .)  Old Simeon was so glad when he saw the Light that he was ready to die at once.  (Luke ii.     .)  There are three names of Jesus in that beautiful little song of Simeon’s, “Lord, now lettest Thou.”  Think about them next time you sing it ; and ask Jesus to be your Salvation, your Light, and your Glory.  Then, when He lets you depart in peace, “the Lord shall be unto thee an Everlasting Light, and thy God thy Glory.”  (Isa. ix.     .)

It was not always light with me; for many a
sinful year
I walked in darkness, far from Thee ; but thou
hast brought me near,
And washed me in Thy precious blood, and
taught me by Thy grace,
And lifted up on my poor soul the brightness
Of Thy face.

My Saviour died in darkness that I might live
in light,
He closed His eyes in death that mine might
have the heavenly sight ;
He gave up all His glory to bring it down to me,
And took the sinner’s place that He the sinner’s
Friend might be.

His Spirit shines upon His word, and makes
it sweet indeed,
Just like a shining lamp held up beside me as
I read ;
And brings it to my mind again alone upon my
bed,
Till all abroad within my heart the love of God
is shed.

Frances Ridley Havergal from MORNING STARS

Leave a Reply

Categories

