Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | March 25, 2009

Growing.

image0011iris1

 

 

 

 

 
                            

                        I.

UNTO him that hath, thou givest
   Ever ‘more abundantly.’
Lord, I live because Thou livest,
   Therefore give more life to me;
Therefore speed me in the race;
Therefore let me grow in grace.

                      II,

Deepen all Thy work, O Master,
   Strengthen every downward root,
Only do Thou ripen faster,
   More and more, Thy pleasant fruit.
Purge me, prune me, self abase,
Only let me grow in grace.

                      III.

Jesus, grace for grace outpouring,
   Show me ever greater things;
Raise me higher, sunward soaring,
   Mounting as on eagle-wings.
By the brightness of Thy face,
   Jesus, let me grow in grace.

                      IV.

Let me grow by sun and shower,
    Every moment water me;
Make me really hour by hour
   More and more conformed to Thee,
That Thy loving eye may trace,
Day by day, my growth in grace.

                       V.

Let me then be always growing,
   Never, never standing still;
Listening, learning, better knowing
   Thee and Thy most bless`ed will.
TilI I reach Thy holy place,
Daily let me grow in grace.

Frances Ridley Havergal from THE POETICAL WORKS

Responses

  1. I am enjoying your blog very much, as Frances Havergal is one of my favourites. I have your blog listed on my sidebar. The idea for this blog was a good one, thank you!

  2. Hi Brenda: Thanks for visiting the site. My good friend Ingrid Schlueter started this blog so people could see the wonderful work God did through the life of F.R.H. Frances had a deep and profound effect on my own life beginning in 1995 when the Lord introduced me to her life and writings. . .the site was a gift to me because I know her works well. I enjoyed looking over your work as well. God bless you as you live and work for the Lord Jesus Christ!


Leave a Reply

Categories

