Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | March 16, 2009

A SONG IN THE NIGHT.

[Written in severe pain, Sunday afternoon, October 8th, 1876, at the Pension Wengen, Alps.]

I TAKE this pain, Lord Jesus, 
   From Thine own hand,
The strength to bear it bravely
   Thou wilt command.

I am so weak for effort,
    So let me rest,
In hush of sweet submission,
   On Thine own breast.

I take this pain, Lord Jesus,
   As proof indeed
That Thou art watching closely
   My truest need;

That Thou, my Good Physician,
   Art watching still;
That all Thine own good pleasure
    Thou wilt fulfil.

I take this pain, Lord Jesus;
   What Thou dost choose
The soul that really loves Thee
   Will not refuse.

It is not for the first time
   I trust to-day;
For Thee my heart has never
   A trustless “Nay!”

I take this pain, Lord Jesus;
   But what beside?
‘Tis no unmingled portion
   Thou dost provide.

In every hour of faintness
   My cup runs o’er
With faithfulness and mercy,
   And love’s sweet store.

I take this pain, Lord Jesus,
   As Thine own gift;
And true though tremulous praises
   I now uplift.

I am too weak to sing them,
   But Thou dost hear
The whisper from the pillow,
   Thou art so near!

‘Tis Thy dear hand, O Saviour,
   That presseth sore,
The hand that bears the nail-prints
   For evermore.

And now beneath its shadow,
   Hidden by Thee,
The pressure only tells me
   Thou lovest me!

This poem is dedicated to Vera who is in the middle of a deep trial in the hospital in England.  Vera is in her eighties and knows and loves the Lord Jesus Christ.  She is waiting on and trusting in God’s will for her life.  Please pray for this beloved mother and grandmother.

Frances Ridley Havergal from “UNDER HIS SHADOW.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

