Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | February 15, 2009

Adoration.

        O MASTER, at Thy feet
        I bow in rapture sweet!
   Before me, as in darkening glass,
        Some glorious outlines pass,
   Of love, and truth, and holiness, and power;
I own them Thine, O Christ, and bless Thee for this
      hour.

        O full of truth and grace,
        Smile at Jehovah’s face,
   O tenderest heart of love untold!
        Who may Thy praise unfold?
   Thee, Saviour, Lord of lords and King of kings,
Well may adoring seraphs hymn with veiling wings.

        I have no words to bring
        Worthy of Thee, my King,
   And yet one anthem in Thy praise
        I long, I long to raise;
   The heart is full, the eye entranced above,
But words all melt away in silent awe and love.

        How can the lip be dumb,
        The hand all still and numb,
   When Thee the heart doth see and own
        Her Lord and God alone?
   Tune for Thyself the music of my days,
And open Thou my lips that I may show Thy praise.

        Yes, let my whole life be
        One anthem unto Thee,
   And let the praise of lip and life
        Outring all sin and strife.
   O Jesus, Master! be Thy name supreme
For heaven and earth the one, the grand, the eternal
       theme.

[“‘Adoration’ (‘O Master, at Thy feet I bow in rapture sweet’) was written on December 31, 1866.  I felt that I had not written anything specially in praise to Christ; a strong longing to do so possessed me.  I wanted to show forth His praise to Him, not to others; even if no mortal ever saw it, He would see every line, would know the unwritten longing to praise Him, even if words failed utterly.  It describes, as most of my poems do, rather reminiscence than present feeling.  “O Master!”  It is perhaps my favorite title, because it implies rule and submission; and this is what love craves.  Men may feel differently, but a true woman’s submission is inseparable from deep love.  I wrote it in the cold and twilight in a little back room at Shareshill Parsonage.”]

Frances Ridley Havergal from THE POETICAL WORKS and MEMORIALS

Leave a Reply

Categories

