Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | February 8, 2009

My Master.

‘I love my master;. . .I will not go out free.  And he shall  serve him for ever.’–Ex. 21:5, 6.

                  I.

I LOVE, I love my Master,
   I will not go out free,
For He is my Redeemer,
   He paid the price for me.

                  II.

I would not leave His service,
   It is so sweet and blest;
And in the weariest moments
   He gives the truest rest.

                   III.

I would not halve my service,
   His only it must be,–
His only, who so loved me
   And gave Himself for me.

                   IV.

My Master shed His life-blood
   My vassal life to win,
And save me from the bondage,
   Of tyrant self and sin.

                     V.

He chose me for His service,
   And gave me power to choose
That blessed, ‘perfect freedom’
   Which I shall never lose:

                    VI.

For He hath met my longing
   With word of of golden tone,
That I shall serve for ever
   Himself, Himself alone.

                   VII.

‘Shall serve Him’ hour by hour,
   For He will show me how;
My Master is fulfilliing
   His promise even now!

                   VIII.

‘Shall serve Him,’ and ‘for ever;’
    O hope most sure, most fair!
The perfect love outpouring
   In perfect service there!

                    IX.

Rejoicing and adoring,
   Henceforth my song shall be:
I love, I love my Master,
   I will not go out free!

Frances Ridley Havergal from THE POETICAL WORKS

Leave a Reply

Categories

