Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | January 18, 2009

Peaceable Fruit.

‘Nevertheless, afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness.’–HEB. 12:11

WHAT shall Thine ‘afterward’ be, O Lord,
     For this dark and suffering night?
Father, what shall Thine ‘afterward’ be?
Hast Thou a morning of joy for me,
     And a new and joyous light?

What shall Thine ‘afterward’ be, O Lord,
     For the moan that I cannot stay?
Shall it issue in some new song of praise,
Sweeter than sorrowless heart could raise,
     When the night hath passed away?

What shall Thine ‘afterward’ be, O Lord,
     For this helplessness of pain?
A clearer view of my home above,
Of my Father’s strength and my Father’s love?
     Shall this be my lasting gain?

What shall Thine ‘afterward’ be, O Lord?
     How long must Thy child endure?
Thou knowest!  ‘Tis well that I know it not!
Thine ‘afterward’ cometh, I cannot tell what,
     But I know that Thy word is sure.

What shall Thine ‘afterward’ be, O Lord?
     I wonder and wait to see,
(While to Thy chastening hand I bow,)
What ‘peaceable fruit’ may be ripening now,
     Ripening fast for me!

Frances Ridley Havergal from THE POETICAL WORKS

Leave a Reply

Categories

