Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | June 4, 2008

All for Jesus

Perhaps you will be interested to know the origin of the consecration hymn, “Take my life.”  I went for a little visit of five days.  There were ten persons in the house, some unconverted and long prayed for, some converted but not rejoicing Christians.  He gave me the prayer, “Lord, give me all in this house!”  And He just did!  Before I left the house every one had got a blessing.  The last night of my visit I was too happy to sleep, and passed most of the night in praise and renewal of my own consecration, and these little couplets formed themselves and chimed in my heart one after another, till they finished with, “Ever, ONLY, ALL for Thee!”

–Frances Ridley Havergal from MEMORIALS

Leave a Reply

Categories

