Posted by: Sherry Goodwin | January 21, 2008

Writing for the Great Congregation

Very prayerfully did she [Frances] write several hymns for “Songs of Grace and Glory”; and, when she heard from time to time of their being blessed, she wrote in answer to a friend’s communication:

It does seem wonderful that God should so use and bless my hymns; and yet it really does seem as if the seal of His own blessing were set upon them, for so many testimonies have reached me.  Writing is praying with me, for I never seem to write even a verse by myself, and feel like a little child writing; you know a child would look up at every sentence and say, “And what shall I say next?”  This is just what I do; I ask that at every line He would give me, not merely thoughts and power, but also every word, even the very rhymes.  Very often I have a most distinct and happy consciousness of direct answers. . .
Literal “singing for Jesus” is to me, somehow, the most personal and direct commission I hold from my beloved Master; and my opportunities for it are often most curious, and have been greatly blessed; every line in my little poem “Singing for Jesus” is from personal experience. . .
I was so overwhelmed on Sunday at hearing three of my hymns touchingly sung at Perry Church.  I never before realized the high privilege of writing for “the great congregation”; especially 633, “I gave My life for thee” to papa’s tune “Baca”; the others were 120 and 911 in “S. G. G.”

–Frances Ridley Havergal from MEMORIALS

Leave a Reply

Categories

